The Graham Historical Museum Advisory Board’s function is to serve in an advisory capacity to City Council and, most importantly, act as a responsible steward of all artifacts entrusted to the Museum.

The advisory board plays a vital role in the operation of the Historical Museum. Board members work to initiate programs and community events that highlight Graham’s history, serve as docents during Museum hours of operation, and act as the acquisition and accession committee for artifacts offered to the Museum.

The Graham Historical Museum, collects, preserves, displays and interprets the records, relics and artifacts which contribute to the understanding and appreciation of the history of the City of Graham.

Mission Statement

The Graham Historical Museum will offer an environment that exhibits artifacts in a well-organized and visually appealing setting and shows the unique physical and cultural history that reflects the story of the City of Graham, NC.  It will be the goal of the Historical Museum Advisory Board to serve as responsible stewards of all artifacts entrusted to the Museum and use those items to provide educational and informative programs for the public.  The Museum will be a resource for scholars, historians and educators as well as history buffs.


The Museum Advisory Board meets on the fourth Monday of each month at 6:30pm at the Graham Historical Museum. All meetings are open to the public.

How to Serve

If you are a resident of the City of Graham or its extra territorial jurisdiction (ETJ), you are eligible to serve on the Historical Museum Advisory Board. The seven-members of the board are appointed by the Graham City Council and each serve three year terms. If you are interested in applying for a seat on the Museum Advisory Board, please call (336) 513-5510.

Members                                                             Term Expires

  • Elaine Murrin – Chair                                                           2020
  • April Snell – Vice-Chair                                                        2022
  • Nicki Grafos Smith – Secretary                                          2021
  • Jerry Cummings                                                                     2021
  • Diana Cummings                                                                  2022
  • Jeanette Beaudry                                                                  2020 
  • Vacancy                                                                                 2022
  • Melody Wiggins – City Council Liaison
  • Brian Faucette – City Staff Liaison