Graham Historical Museum
135 West Elm Street
Graham, NC 27253
Phone: (336) 513-5510
Hours of Operation
Friday & Saturday 10:00am – 2:00pm
*Before each Thursdays at Seven Concert from 5:00pm – 6:30pm
Free, no food or drinks please
About the Museum
The Graham Historical Museum is one of downtown Graham’s newest attractions. After the completion of an 18-month redesign project, the Museum offers visitors and residents alike a nostalgic and enjoyable trip back in time to the early days of the town.
The building that houses the Graham Historical Museum has a colorful history of its own. Erected in 1911, the building was built to be the Fireman’s Building but was also used as the town hall, the police department, a courtroom, and a small calaboose (jail) located in the rear. In subsequent years, the building served as the Alamance Arts Council until 1996. The firefighters of the Graham Fire Department remodeled the building, and it then became the Graham Historical Museum which opened on June 21, 2001. A 1930 Seagrave fire truck still occupies a prominent place in the museum as a reminder of the building’s original occupants.
The new layout of the museum contains exhibits and photos designed to give visitors a glimpse of Graham life from its earliest days up until the mid-twentieth century while evoking memories and stories from those who grew up in Graham. The first floor of this iconic two-story building is the main section of the museum and a new museum library shares space on the second floor with the Graham Recreation & Parks Administrative Offices.